2016 Election of International Board of Directors


January is the time to start thinking about choosing potential nominees who, if nominated and elected, will serve the 2017-2020 International Board of Directors term. It is each chapter's opportunity to participate in the selection of potential nominees for the International Board of Directors. Look at the leaders in your chorus, your region, and the Sweet Adelines world with an eye toward their potential as members of the International Board. Each chapter board of directors or management team may recommend potential nominees to the chapter; however, the actual selections should be made by vote of the chapter membership.

When a chapter has selected potential nominees who have all, or most of the qualifications listed below, the International Board of Directors 2016 Potential Nominee Application is to be completed by each potential nominee. The Good Standing Statement portion of the application should be completed and signed by two Chapter Officers and mailed or emailed to the Corporate Secretary at International Headquarters.

The IDEAL potential nominee should work well on her own and as a team member to define and pursue goals, and to carry out the aims of the International Organization. Her qualifications should also include the following:

  • Positive, objective attitude
  • Good listening skills
  • Critical and analytical thinking as well as imaginative and creative thinking
  • Effective verbal and written communications skills
  • Knowledge of and ability to use available resources
  • Computer skills, with ability to communicate electronically
  • Vision and long-range planning experience
  • Ability to adapt easily to different environments
  • Ability to relate to a variety of personality types
  • Training and experience in a field which could be of value to the International Board
  • Experience in Sweet Adelines International as a chapter, regional or International officer, committee chair or committee member
  • Thorough understanding of the mission and goals of Sweet Adelines International
  • Professional appearance and dress

The Corporate Bylaws provide for a three-year term of office for members of the International Board of Directors. In 2016, eight nominees will be chosen and four directors will be elected (every third year, four nominees are chosen and two directors are elected). During its 2016 meeting, the Nominating Committee will carefully consider all the nominee applications received from the chapters and from members of the committee. After all potential nominees’ qualifications have been discussed the Nominating Committee will select eight nominees.

Information on these nominees will be provided in The Pitch Pipe and online so that you have a chance to familiarize yourself with the candidates. Ballots containing the names of the eight nominees will be sent to the chapters, Chapter-at-Large members, and Members-at-Large in October 2016. Chapters are requested to schedule their election meetings for International Board Members in October or November 2016. All official ballots must be cast by 3:00 p.m. Central Time on the first Wednesday in December.

Remember that you play a vital role in the selection of this most critically important group! THE DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF POTENTIAL NOMINEE APPLICATIONS AT INTERNATIONAL HEADQUARTERS IS MAY 5, 2016.

Please click on the following link to access the 2016 International Board of Directors Potential Nominee Application information. Please click on the following link to access the Chapter Guide, Section XI: International.

Questions or comments about the election for International Board of Directors should be directed to the Corporate Services department at International headquarters (corp_secy@sweetadelineintl.org).

2015 IBOD Election

The International Board of Directors functions as the governing and decision-making body of the organization. The Board elects the officers of the corporation. The International Board of Directors has authority to do all things necessary to fulfill the purpose of the organization, including strategic planning, the levying of fees and the delegation necessary for contract execution. Board members work closely with the International Headquarters staff to monitor and administer the organization’s programs.

The election of four members to the International Board of Directors of Sweet Adelines International has concluded with Patty Cobb Baker, Harborlites Chorus, Region 21, Jennifer Cooke, Scenic City Chorus, Metro Nashville Chorus, Song of Atlanta Chorus (associate), Region 4, Peggy Gram, Top of the Rock Chorus, Region 25, and Carole Persinger, Pacific Sound Chorus, Region 13 being elected to three-year terms that begin on May 1, 2016. In addition, the International Board appointed two members to serve one-year terms beginning on the same day. The appointees are Therese Antonini, North Metro Chorus, Region 16 and JD Crowe, Canadian Showtime Chorus, Region 11. 

The International election concluded at 3 p.m. CST on Wednesday, Dec. 2. International President Marcia Pinvidic was pleased that participation in the election stood at 92.9 percent, higher than the participation recorded in the 2014 election.

In the 2015 election, six regions achieved 100 percent chapter vote participation: Atlantic-Gulf Region #9, Gulf Coast Region #10, Sequoia Pacifica Region #11, Heart of the Blue Ridge Region #14, Greater NY/NJ Region #15 and New Zealand Region #35.

The Corporate Services department serves as the official staff liaisons to the International Board. If you would like to send a message to the International President or a member of the International Board, contact the Corporate Services department at International headquarters (corp_secy@sweetadelines.com).

Download the 2015-2016 International Committee List here.

2015-2016 International Board

Seated (l to r): Joan Boutilier, Renée Porzel, Marcia Pinvidic, Paula Davis and Patty Cobb Baker

Standing (l to r): Peggy Gram, Cammi MacKinlay,  Anne Cargill, Carole Persinger, Dale Syverson, Jeanne d'Arc (JD) Crowe and Thérèse Antonini,  

2015-2016 Executive Committee

(l to r; top to bottom) Joan Boutilier, secretary; Paula Davis, president-elect; Patty Cobb Baker, treasurer; Renée Porzel, immediate past president; and Marcia Pinvidic, president