Sweet Adelines International's 
Music Educator Award

The Sweet Adelines International Educator Award is presented each year to an outstanding music educator who has achieved excellence in her field and made exceptional contributions to promoting the barbershop style in schools. The International Board of Directors selects the award recipient from a pool of nominees submitted by the Regional Management Teams and Young Women in Harmony Coordinators. 

Qualifications for the award recipient are as follows:

  • Recipient must be a music educator
  • Recipient must be a member of NAfME (National Association for Music Education), CMEA (Canadian Music Educators' Association), or EMEA (European Music Educators' Association)
  • Recipient must be a member of Sweet Adelines International
  • In addition, through her talent and dedication, the recipient must have made oustanding contributions to the furtherance of music education in public and/or private schools by promoting the barbershop style as an American art form. 

 2016 Sweet Adelines International CMEA Educator Award Recipient
Patti Thorpe

2016 Sweet Adelines International NAfME Educator Award Recipient
Jana Gutenson


Past Sweet Adelines International Educator Award Recipients

2001 Alyson Alan and Glen Chaney

1992 Lindi Bortney
1993 Sharon Vitkovsky
1994 Lorraine Barrows
1995 Sarah Boeka
1996 Dede Nibler
1997 Debbie Connelly
1998 Beth Bruce
1999 Jan Meyer
2000 Janice Kueppers
2001 Estelle Glarborg
2002 Judie Sharp
2003 Melody Horgan
2004 Carol Grimmer
2005 Kim Wonders
2006 Lauren Altiere
2007 Sheila Koplitz
2008 Jennifer E. Edwards
2009 Karen Wysocky
2010 Anne Kotchman
2011 Natalie Allen
2012 Lori Lyford
2013 Debbie Baker
2014 Patricia Danner
2015 Amanda Sky Harris
2016 Jana Gutenson